Picture Dump

I’m really tired of having a ton of pictures of food on my computer so I’ll dump them all in one post and then start again!

These are the Old Fashioned Chelsea Waffles from Vegan Brunch.  We borrowed my Dad’s posh waffle maker for a while and had a ton of waffles.  These were really tasty, not too sweet and nice and crunchy.  One day I will be able to afford a nice waffle maker, until then we’ll have to live without them…

Jim just said this looks yummy, I think it looks awful but it sure did taste nice.  These are Cheddar Cheesy Waffles from The Global Vegan Waffle Cookbook with Fry’s chicken burgers and Punk Rock Gravy from Vegan With a Vengeance.  I’d never had Chicken and Waffles before so I’ve no idea if this is what it was supposed to be like but we all enjoyed it!

We also made Heartfelt Banana-Spelt Waffles and Naked Vegan Waffles from the waffles book and both were good.  I didn’t get around to trying the Mexican Waffles that have refried beans in them, one day I’ll get to make them!

Ok, this is taking brainpower to figure out what some of these are!  This is Butternut Coconut Rice with Broiled Blackened Tofu from Appetite For Reduction.  Jim and I both think that marinated tofu is better than tofu that’s covered with something right before it’s cooked but this was nice for a change.  The rice was great but it made tons and tons!

Not Your Mama’s Pot Roast from Vegan Diner.  I had some issues with the amount of liquid to dry ingredients, it was just far too wet and I’ll cut back next time. Also I ignored myself and put the garlic in without cooking it and it flavoured the whole pot roast with that horrible slow cooked garlic taste so next time around I’ll either use garlic powder or fry the garlic before adding it.  It was really good though and I used the leftover seitan in another dish and it worked well.

Skillet Black Beans with Potatoes and Tortillas from The Vegetarian Family Cookbook.  We all enjoyed this meal, it seems like a strange combination but it actually worked really well and was filling and nice.  Basically you cook the pepper and potatoes, add some black beans, tomatoes and spices and then at the end you stir in some cut up corn tortilla strips which go all mushy.  Good dish for using up bits and pieces of Mexican food as you could add salsa or enchilada sauce or whatever you had on hand either in it or as a topping.

Coleslaw from Vegan Deli which is my favourite coleslaw recipe either (I make the creamy version) and which we’ve been having quite a bit since Jim decided that he likes it too.  The ribs are Baby Back Ribs from The Complete Guide to Vegan Food Substitutions and they were really nice.  The recipe made tons and I froze half of it.  I found, according to my notes in the book, that it only took about an hour for them to cook rather than the 90 minutes the book said.  I used store-bought barbecue sauce on these as they had it on sale in my local shop.

Really struggling to remember what this is…  I know it wasn’t actually supposed to be purple it just went that way because of the cabbage I used.  Nope, can’t remember what it was or where it came from!

These are the Meatfree Balls from Vegan Subs.  My kids would literally knock you over for these.  The first time I made them I doubled the recipe and then Jim made them with his Uncle and they quadrupled the recipe by mistake so we had tons on the freezer.  I used pumpkin in mine from my Mum’s garden, great way to get vegetables into the kids without them tasting them!

Falafel Burger from The Best Veggies Burgers on the Planet.  These were definitely the stickiest burger on the planet but sadly they just tasted of flour.  They needed a ton more spices and flavour and a lot less liquid.  I’ve never worked with potato flour before but my god will I think twice about using it again in anything I have to put my hands in as it was horrific to try to get unstuck and washed off.

Hippy Burgers from the same book.  I had mine with salad as the recipe showed and boys had baked fries.  Again though, these just tasted of flour, even the vegetables didn’t seem to have any taste once they were cooked.  I made the tahini sauce from the book to go on my salad and it tasted good from the jar but didn’t have a strong enough flavour to stand out on the salad.

Meatloaf Burgers from the same book again.  Now these I liked, they tasted like meatloaf, they held together well and they didn’t taste of flour.  I’ll be making these again in the future for sure.  They also froze and reheated well which is useful.

I won’t give up on the burger book, I’m sure there are some gems in there and I’ve just been unlucky.  Anyone else tried these particular recipes?  What did you think?

I can’t promise I’m back to the food blogging but I want to try.  I’ve not actually been using my cookbooks recently although I’ve still been buying them.  I’ve been doing a lot more ‘throw a load of vegetables in a pot, season them and serve them with rice or potatoes’.  I do miss the interaction though about food so we’ll see how it goes!

2 thoughts on “Picture Dump

  1. Pingback: Meatless Balls « Vegan Food For Thought

So, what do you think?

