Strange Looking Food That Doesn’t Photograph Well

I know I am not a good photographer by any stretch of the imagination, I am the dictionary definition of point and shoot, but taking a picture of banana pudding that looks anywhere near interesting without using a ton of props seems to be very hard.

This recipe is an oldie but goodie and easy one from How It All Vegan.  It’s just tofu, banana, sugar and a few other bits put through the food processor.  Both the boys loved this and it is so easy to make and so much better for them than the pre-packed puddings I tend to be lazy and buy that I really must do it more often.

And this odd lump is the Smoky Mountain Cheese from Vegan Diner.  I’ve literally had the ingredients for this sitting on my kitchen counter for months and months and just never got around to it.  I needed cheese for another recipe I was doing so I decided to finally get around to it and it was as easy as I knew it would be (of course I finally got to making it at a time that I had run out of garlic powder totally so mine is garlicless).

I’ve made some cheeses from The Uncheese Cookbook before and this is very similar in process, process it all together, boil it until the agar is melted and then set it in whatever shape you’d like.

I really enjoyed this cheese and had some in a sandwich as well as in the meal I’d planned it for.  Jim wasn’t keen on it but then he doesn’t like any cheese really beyond the very bland Cheezly or Tofutti spread or slices.  Piggle wasn’t well enough to try any but I’ll make it again sometime so we’ll see what he thinks then!

So, what do you think?

