Chickpea and Vegetable Loaf with Balsamic Glazed Carrots and Kale

This is the Chickpea and Vegetable Loaf from 1000 Vegan Recipes.  It was easy to make and very tasty but oddly dry.  Next time I try this I will make sure I add a lot more water to it (and oil my loaf tin better obviously…).  It’s a nice to have vegetables in the loaf along with the chickpeas and binding carbs, makes me feel like I’m stuffing as many vegetables as possible into my boys!

Jim wanted roast potatoes but we’d had them not long before so I sliced the potatoes and stuck them in the oven for a bit of a change.  I put a bit of chicken seasoning on them for flavour along with some olive oil and salt, they’re lovely this way.

The balsamic glazed vegetables were really really nice and very simple.  I will make these again for sure but I won’t boil the kale beforehand.  The recipe calls for it to be boiled with the carrots and then sautéed and it was just too soggy and past it when doing both, I think the sautéing will be more than enough to cook it well.

If you’re a fan of Robin Robertson’s recipes and happen to be on Flickr come and join the Vegan Planet Group and post what you’ve made.  I set it up a while back but haven’t done much promotion for it beyond asking random strangers to join, so come on more random strangers, show us what you’ve cooked from all Robin’s great books!

2 thoughts on “Chickpea and Vegetable Loaf with Balsamic Glazed Carrots and Kale

So, what do you think?

