Let Them Eat Vegan Vegetables

Dreena posted about this Almond Roasted Cauliflower recipe on her blog the other day.  As I had a cauli in the fridge and no plans for it I figured I’d give it a go.  On the opposite page is the recipe for Lemon Dijon Green Beans and as I also had a small amount of purple and yellow beans from the organic box I decided to try that too!

The cauliflower was really easy and I thought it was very tasty.  The boys weren’t so convinced, although they did eat it eventually.  I think if they stopped thinking ‘I don’t like cauliflower’ and actually tried to see if they liked the taste they would have enjoyed it.

The beans are really easy, you just cook them and then add a dressing.  I only had 4oz of beans so I halved the dressing recipe.  I didn’t add the fresh herbs as I didn’t have any to hand and I thought the flavour was nice as it was.  Also, I’m sure I’ve said this before, dijon mustard over here is MUCH stronger than it is in the US.  The recipe calls for half a tablespoon which would blow your head off.  Generally I use teaspoon measurements instead of tablespoon for it and it worked well here. The recipe says to cool the beans completely but I didn’t want to eat cold beans so I used them warm and it was fine. Piggle said to me very excitedly ‘Mummy, I like green beans’, so I guess I’ll be making this again as I enjoyed it too!

I served these with baked potatoes and Linda Mac sausages and it was a very nice meal.

One thought on “Let Them Eat Vegan Vegetables

  1. I usually do not leave a lot of responses, however after looking at through
    a few of the remarks here Let Them Eat Vegan Vegetables |
    Vegan Food For Thought. I actually do have a few questions for you if you tend not to mind.
    Is it simply me or do a few of these comments appear like they are left by brain
    dead visitors? :-P And, if you are posting on additional places, I would like to follow everything fresh you have to post.
    Would you list of every one of your social community sites
    like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

So, what do you think?

