Day One – Indian

This is Slow-Cooker Spiced Peas and ‘Paneer’ from Vegan Indian Cooking.  It was a really simple dish to make and nice to put it in the slow cooker for a few hours so I didn’t have to mess about trying to get the rice cooked and the Co-op onion bhajis reheated all at the same time.

This is the first dish that I’ve had with garlic from the slow cooker where it didn’t taste horrible.  I guess if you purée it then it does cook through fine, it wasn’t even sautéed beforehand, just right into the pot and it was very nice so I will have to remember that in the future.  Besides that there’s a ton of peas, lots of spices, onion and ginger, some tomatoes, baked tofu and water.  I thought that it was too runny so next time I will drastically reduce the water and probably add some arrowroot at the same time I add the tofu to thicken the liquid up into a sauce.

I left out the chilis completely from the recipe but I did add the full 1tsp of chili powder that it called for.  I think this chili powder is hotter than the previous one and also there wasn’t really anything in the dish to absorb the heat like the beans do in chilli so it was a bit too hot for the boys.  I’ll reduce it next time so it’s just warm rather than blazing!

We had it over brown basmati rice and it was a nice filling meal and a good start to our week of International food!

So, what do you think?

