Day Four – Chinese

We eat Chinese food quite a bit here but we’d never had mock duck with pancakes before, mainly because I’d never remembered to buy the pancakes.  My Mother came to the rescue when I failed again to buy them by giving us some from her freezer.  I used this mock duck (it’s either a new brand or a new label as I’ve never seen it looking like this before)…

I just fried it a bit to crisp it up, steamed the pancakes and threw in some hoisin sauce and cucumber and spring onion.  They were really really tasty and we’ll definitely be doing them again, I will be stocking up on pancakes and tins of mock duck next visit to a Chinese Supermarket!

We had Co-op spring rolls as well.  I stock up on these for the freezer when they’re reduced in price in our local shop.  They actually have some flavour which tends to be lacking in most spring rolls and they are oven cooked rather than fried.

The final dish was Fried Rice from Authentic Vegan Cuisine which is the recipe I always use.  It has tofu scramble in it along with whatever veg I have to hand, this time it was kale, carrots, spring onions and red pepper.  I use brown basmati rice and it works really well.  This is the dish I make most often when I have a little bit of this and a little bit of that vegetable in the fridge at the end of the week, both boys eat it and the leftovers are great for lunch.

So, what do you think?

