Day Six – Caribbean

I’ve had the Caribbean Vegan book for a while now but this was the first time I’ve actually used it and we were pretty pleased with the results.  I made the Island Burgers with Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Wedges.

The Burgers have a really long ingredients list one of which is another recipe in the book, Bajan Seasoning.

The seasoning has spring onions, garlic, peppers, lime juice, herbs and some spices in it along with white vinegar.  The recipe males a load but does say that you can keep it in the fridge for up to a year.  As I’d not tried it before I reduced it right down to a couple of tablespoons, I also left out the peppers as we don’t like things too hot here.  It was a really tasty seasoning and I will make a larger amount next time to keep on hand to add to things, I think it’d be nice in rice or mixed in with vegetables.

The burgers are tvp based and again I left out the peppers.  I also didn’t have any Angostura bitters but as it only calls for one teaspoon I don’t think that made much difference to the taste.  They were really nice and they fried well.  Normally I will bake burgers as they have a tendency to fall apart when I try to fry them but these worked really well.  I’m sure I’ll make these again at some point.

The sweet potatoes were supposed to be white ones but I’ve never seen any over here so I went with the orange ones which meant they were a little bit floppy.  I wasn’t sure if the boys would like them as they were a little bit spicy for their usual tastes.  I didn’t have Creole seasoning so I left that out but used every other spice and herb listed.  It was a really simple side dish to make and I’ll try and remember it next time I buy sweet potatoes.

Again, it was another successful meal and nice to try a different style of cooking that I don’t have much experience with.  Caribbean food is a lot spicier than we would normally eat but leaving out the chilis or reducing them right back seems to be ok and doesn’t compromise the flavour and now I know that I’ll be looking for other recipes to try from this book!

2 thoughts on “Day Six – Caribbean

  1. you’ ll get proper white sweet potatoes in Brixton and Depford, Lewisham markets, near caribbean community. In scotland where I live I can only get the orange sweet potatos which are far inferior.Yams and Cassava is another favorite of mine that I cannot get here.

So, what do you think?

