Naughty Day

I won’t say that yesterday was a bad day as I enjoyed every mouthful, it was just a day when I had an awful lot of mouthfuls beyond what I really needed and often when I wasn’t really that hungry.

It has just occurred to me (sometimes I’m very slow) that when I next make the pizza dough from Vegan with a Vengeance I should split it into 3 pizzas as I’m the only person eating it, the recipe may say it makes 2 crusts but I don’t have to follow that, duh! I ate a whole pizza to myself last night which is what made me think about that, I could eat a whole one guilt free if I made them smaller, told you I was slow!

I thought it might be interesting to post my menu for the month. As we do a main food shop monthly and then just a quick shop for stuff we’ve run out of (doesn’t happen that often as you can see from my larder! lol) and vegetables in the middle of the month I have to be sure that I have the right things in so we can eat. Also with a small child in the house I can no longer wander into the kitchen when I start to feel hungry and the play about for an hour or so until I come up with something, so the monthly menu was born in our house. I remember my Mother doing the same when we were kids, probably for the same reasons as she used to shop monthly and filled 2 huge shopping carts as there were 6 of us to feed! We fill 1 regular cart with a child sitting in it and one small cart when we shop as we also get the dog and cat food from the same place!

So, this is what’s in store for us this month and which recipe book it’s from if there is one:

Pasta with sauce
Pizza
Corn Chowder – Rose Eliott Large
Moroccan Tangine – Vegan With A Vengeance
Sloppy Joes – How It All Vegan
Three Bean Curry Tomato Soup – Vive Le Vegan
Hawaiian Chicken – New Vegan
Chipotle Veggie Bean Burritos – Vive Le Vegan
Sausage and Chips
Cinnamon Spiced Roasted Veg with Cous Cous – La Dolce Vegan
Baked Chili With Cornbread Topping – La Dolce Vegan
Chicken Pie Sunday Lunch
Stir Fry
Chili Bean Macaroni – Vegan Vittles
Baked Chili With Cornbread Topping – Hot Damn and Hell Yeah
Kurstin’s Walnut Burgers – Garden of Vegan
Fish and Chips
Burger, Mash and Beans
Cauliflower Red Lentil Soup – La Dolce Vegan
Curried Lentils – Garden of Vegan
Linda McCartney Pies Sunday Lunch
Seitan and Mushroom Stroganoff – Vegan Vittles
Enchiladas – Hot Damn and Hell Yeah
Pasta and Sauce
Creamy Curried Veggies – How It All Vegan
Ginger Hoisin Rice Noodles – Everyday Vegan
Sausage Casserole – ripped out of a magazine
Fry Up
Cheese and Beans – Garden of Vegan
Baked Macaroni and Tomatoes – Nonna’s Italian Cookbook

All sausages, burgers and fish cakes are vegan versions of course (DH will have real fish while Little One and I have fake). Chips are bought from the local shop.

How funny, I just noticed that I have Baked Chili with Cornbread Topping on there twice but from different cookbooks! I may change one of those to something else or I may leave it as if we have it 3 weeks apart we won’t notice! I am 2 recipes short to make it to the next payday but my new cookbook has been dispatched from Amazon so I saved some spaces so I didn’t have to wait a full month to try it out!

I’ve ordered 4 vegan cooking Zines recently so I will review those when they arrive, I’m excited to see them as I’ve been reading about them for ages but never had the funds to order so I finally treated myself! I’ve also ordered the McDougall Plan cheap from Amazon Marketplace to see what that’s all about as a lot of US Vegan Blogs are talking about McDougall recipes. It will be interesting to see how I can perhaps change bits of my diet to aid my weightloss as I’m already doing the vegan thing.

No weigh-in this week as after the weekend’s eating I’m bound to have gained and I don’t want to be depressed over it. I intend to get back on track this week for sure as I need to get the momentum going again.

So, what do you think?

