Yummy Winter Stew

I made this the other night for dinner and it was wolfed down for all. As I made it up as I went along I thought I should make a note of what I did for future use and thought someone else might find it a handy recipe to have.

Yummy Winter Stew

1 Tbsp Oil
1 onion chopped
2 cloves garlic chopped
2 large carrots peeled and chopped
1 large parsnip peeled and chopped
3 small potatoes peeled and chopped
1 1/2 cups cauliflower in small florets
1 leek sliced
4 large mushrooms chopped

2 mushroom stock cubes
1 tin seitan cut up in to chunks (about 1 cup, soya chunks or tvp chunks would also work)
water
salt and pepper to taste

Heat the oil in a large pan and fry the onion and garlic for a few minutes, as you chop up each vegetable in the order they’re listed add them to the pan. Fry it all together for a couple more minutes and then add the stock cubes and just enough water to cover the vegetables.

Boil gently for about 10 minutes and then add the seitan and boil until the vegetables are soft then season to taste. When I added the seitan I put herb dumplings on top (I got my recipe from allrecipes.com and it was lovely), the dumplings take 15 minutes and by the time they’re cooked everything underneath is soft and good to go.

If you stew isn’t as thick as you want it add 1Tbsp corn flour to some of the broth in a cup and then stir into the stew and boil until it thickens up.

Yum yum!

I have been doing more cooking recently and it’s nice to be back at the cooker! I roasted the pumpkin I’d grown and got a ton of pumpkin in the freezer, last night I made the pumpkin loaf from La Dolce Vegan and it’s great as usual. I had some leftover soya yoghurt that needed to be used up so I made the Lemon Poppyseed muffins from Vegan with a Vengeance, I doubled the recipe and it made some lovely big muffins. With both of these recipes I used half white flour and half wholemeal and they both turned out great and I’m happy knowing that they’re not quite so bad for us to eat, I am going to try subbing a little bit more wholemeal and see what the balance is that works best for me. I have blueberry muffins planned to make and an absolute ton of bananas in the freezer so I will make some banana muffins soon too I’m sure. Just have to keep eating up the soup from the freezer to make room to store the baked goods. As we don’t eat them fast enough I freeze my muffins and loaves and just defrost what we need in the microwave when we want something.

I also made a peach cobbler, for some reason I had a real longing for one, must have been the horrid wet weather we had that day! I again found the recipe on allrecipes.com and it was great, I will be making it again for sure!

I have a recipe I made up for some lovely soup I made in the slow cooker so I will post that soon too!

So, what do you think?

