Mac and "Cheese"

I think Robin Robertson put the cheese in quote marks because this dish doesn’t taste anything like cheese at all, not even that fake ‘trying to be like cheese but failing’ flavour that some vegan dishes have. It has to be the most bland mac and cheese I’ve made since being vegan, really pretty dull to eat.

There seemed to be a lot of sauce when I mixed it together but I figured that I would go with it and see what happened. The sauce didn’t thicken, instead it kind of curdled so you had white curdled lumps with the macaroni, not the most tempting thing to eat.

The recipe called for 2 teaspoons of Nutritional Yeast, I added 3 tablespoons to ours and it still didn’t help matters, my miso was also not of the mild white variety and even that didn’t help it out.

This one won’t be made again in this house, there are too many other good recipes out there for one of Little One and my favourite dishes to bother with it.

So, what do you think?

