Fusilli With Lentil Sauce

I’ve been meaning to try a lentil sauce for pasta for ages so gave this one a go finally! I think after cooking it that it was intended for green lentils rather than the red lentils that I used. The recipe itself just says ‘lentils’ which is why I assumed red as they are the standard over here. However, the cooking time is 15 minutes and then an additional 15 minutes until the lentils are cooked, and the red ones were cooked after the first 15 minutes.

The only change I made with this recipe was to leave out the spinach, we just don’t go in for it in this house, although I bought it intending to be virtuous and stick it in. I will use some of it in a salad today and then admit defeat and stop trying to make myself use it, if I don’t know that I don’t like a vegetable after trying it numerous times then I never will!

This is a store cupboard recipe, onions, garlic, herbs, tinned tomatoes and olive oil so it will become something I whip up when I can’t think of anything else and don’t have much in the house I think!

So, what do you think?

Fusilli With Lentil Sauce

I’ve been meaning to try a lentil sauce for pasta for ages so gave this one a go finally! I think after cooking it that it was intended for green lentils rather than the red lentils that I used. The recipe itself just says ‘lentils’ which is why I assumed red as they are the standard over here. However, the cooking time is 15 minutes and then an additional 15 minutes until the lentils are cooked, and the red ones were cooked after the first 15 minutes.

The only change I made with this recipe was to leave out the spinach, we just don’t go in for it in this house, although I bought it intending to be virtuous and stick it in. I will use some of it in a salad today and then admit defeat and stop trying to make myself use it, if I don’t know that I don’t like a vegetable after trying it numerous times then I never will!

This is a store cupboard recipe, onions, garlic, herbs, tinned tomatoes and olive oil so it will become something I whip up when I can’t think of anything else and don’t have much in the house I think!

So, what do you think?

