Chickpeas With Vegetables (Safed Chane Aur Sabzi)

This is another store cupboard dish (well, if you have carrots and onions in anyway!) and very easy to make. Forgot to take a picture of it again I’m afraid, by the time I get dinner together at the moment I just want to sit down and eat, after 4 weeks of not sleeping through the night I’m feeling a bit frazzled!

As with most recipes from this book you make up a Tarka with onions, tomatoes and spices and add that to the other ingredients, in this case chickpeas, carrots and more spices. The recipe called for horseradish or radishes which I didn’t have and never actually have, but the dish didn’t suffer for it in my mind.

The spices called for are hing, mango powder, garam masala, ginger and a load of cumin seeds. I served it over white rice and Little One and I both enjoyed it, DH not so much but he’s not a fan of most Indian food.

As usual I reduced the chili level in this and just used half a mild chili in it which was plenty for us.

I will be making this one again as it was simple and tasty and only took about half an hour from starting chopping to getting it on the table.

So, what do you think?

