Backyard Barbecue Chili


I’ve put this on the menu a couple of times but never got around to making it for some reason, yesterday I finally did and I’m so glad I tried it as it’s lovely!

I used the barbecue sauce recipe from Garden of Vegan which I’ve made before, the recipe for the chili said to add half a cup of sauce but it didn’t taste much like barbecue to me so I added all of the sauce in (the recipe makes about 3/4 of a cup) and it was much better. I used mesquite liquid smoke in the sauce rather than the hickory I normally use and it was very nice, I will be trying it in other recipes now I’ve opened the bottle!

The chili is very easy to make, just fry the onions and pepper, boil it with the tins of chopped tomatoes and barbecue sauce and then add the fake meat and beans and boil a little longer. It made enough for 2 meals for two adults and a small child so I’ve frozen it for future use.

I think that chili powder in the States must be a lot more mild than it is over here, or we’re a lot wimpier than I thought when it comes to heat! The recipe called for 2 tablespoons of chili powder, were I not making this for a child and a man who’s stomach gets upset when he eats anything too spicy I would have added 2 teaspoons to the recipe tops, in this one I put 1 teaspoon and it was plenty chili tasting for the man and boy. I notice that a lot of US recipes call for several tablespoons of chili powder in them so I’m guessing that it’s not as strong as even the mild UK chili powder I use….

So, what do you think?

