Hearty Tofu Burgers

I was a bit worried when I was making these that they were going to come out terribly but they were actually really really nice burgers. Very simple, onion, garlic, almond butter (I used peanut butter), soy sauce, balsamic vinegar, water, frozen and defrosted tofu and vital wheat gluten.

Besides the liquid running out the bottom of my food processor (I have already started asking for money for my Birthday in November so I can buy a new one!) and having to add a bit extra vital wheat gluten because I over compensated for the lost liquid everything went fine. I used my new hamburger maker which is really just some bits of plastic that form the stuff into burger shapes and made 4 large burgers rather than the 6-8 the recipe said. As they were bigger I cooked them for 5 minutes longer.

I will definitely be making these again, I have another package of tofu in the freezer that needs to be used up! It would be really easy to add different flavours to this base as well so I will be trying that in the future.

So, what do you think?

