Pineapple Sweet and Sour


I have a love/hate relationship with sweet and sour sauces, I remember having sweet and sour pork balls as a teenager and no sauce that I’ve had since has matched up to the one we got from that particular takeaway shop, perhaps it was more the pork balls I liked, who knows. Anyway, I have instructed my husband not to allow me to order sweet and sour from a restaurant or takeaway anymore as I am always disappointed in it, it’s either too sickly sweet or too sour and I never enjoy eating it.

When I saw that this book had sweet and sour I knew I was going to have to try it, just to know whether it was a good recipe or a bad one, and as the boys adore pineapple it got onto the menu. I used fried seitan as the protein in the dish, the recipe gives you alternatives to the tofu triangles called for and that’s what I had in the house, plus we adore the tinned seitan so it was a bit of a no brainer. The only other ‘change’ I made was to use less pineapple, we don’t get the big ass 19oz tins of stuff over here that some American recipes call for so I used a large tin which was about 12ozs I think. We all thought that it was a fine amount of pineapple (you use the juice as well so the sauce was probably thicker but it was fine) and that had there been more it would have been too much.

So, was this sauce good or bad? It was really really nice! The only thing that will put me off making it a lot and just changing the vegetables and protein source is the fact that is has 1/3 of a cup of sugar in it which seems an awful lot for a savoury dish, but it works just right with the amount of vinegar and other bits and bobs that go in. It was a hit all around.

I think there is a reipe for mock pork balls in this book as well, if there is it will be showing up at some point I’m sure!

So, what do you think?

