Sichaun "Beef" and Broccoli


I really enjoyed this dish but DH found it too spicy for him. I made the sauce first time around as per the instructions and then tasted it and realised that it was going to be too hot for anyone here to eat so I threw it out and made it again halving the chili garlic paste and it was fine for me but obviously not for him.

The ‘beef’ is tvp chunks which I reconstituted using the basic recipe from 20 Minutes Until Dinner, it made them taste lovely so I will be doing them that was all the time! The other ingredients in this are pretty easy, cornstarch, garlic, broccoli, onions, red pepper, rice vinegar, chili garlic paste, sugar, broth and water. It is very quick to make once everything is ready which is why it’s served with noodles rather than rice as I forgot to put the rice on before I started cutting everything up and there was no time to cook it once that was done!

I will probably make this again for Little One and I at some point, I think he will like it when he’s not too tired to eat like he was last night.

So, what do you think?

