Lentil Loaf and Simple Shallot Gravy


I don’t think this recipe is very well written and unless you live in a diner there is no way you would ever need as much Lentil Loaf as this recipe makes.

To start with the recipe calls for 4 cups of lentils to be cooked with 2 cups of water. If anyone actually manages to cook that amount of lentils with that small amount of water I’d love to hear about it. I used brown lentils and used one hell of a lot more water to cook them.

Next the recipe says that all the ingredients will fit into a 4×7 inch loaf tin…. Ummm, 4 cups of dried lentils cooked plus a cup of oats, plus 1 cup of nuts plus 4 2/3 cups of vegetables plus half a cup of bulgar, my spatial awareness isn’t all that fabulous but there’s no way on earth all that will fit in a tin that size.

The picture is of half the recipe, and it was a real squash to get it into that tin which is actually bigger than the 4×7 inch tin called for. I did wonder if maybe it was supposed to be 2 cups of lentils with 4 cups of water but it still wouldn’t have fit in the tin that way.

For the amount of time it took to make (it has to bake for a total of 65-70 minutes plus there’s the lentil cooking time and veg saute time) it wasn’t as good as it should have been and was a little bit dry. The nuts and seeds make it have an odd crunch which made you wonder if the lentils were undercooked (they weren’t) before you realised it was a sunflower seed or walnut. The herbs didn’t make it that tasty either.

I served the loaf with mashed potatoes and Simple Shallot Gravy from Garden of Vegan. I like this gravy recipe although next time I will leave out the maple syrup as with the sweetness of the shallots it was a little too sweet. I think the extra sweetness comes from the fact that I only use 2 teaspoons of miso in it rather than 2 tablespoons as the larger amount would just make it far too strong for my liking. I used my stick blender to puree the gravy and it made it nice and thick. It reheated well the next day for lunch with leftover lentil loaf.

One thought on “Lentil Loaf and Simple Shallot Gravy

So, what do you think?

