Vegetable and Lentil Casserole With Herby Dumplings


This was a really nice warming winter casserole. The dumplings were a little bit dry for my liking, I think next time I make it I will make them larger and that should stop them from drying out in the middle.

There are lots of vegetables in this casserole and the lentils work to thicken the sauce rather than it being a real lentil dish, if you see what I mean. This is what it looked like served up:


There are potatoes, carrot, courgette, red pepper, green beans, onion and celery in there.

The only think I would change making this again is to add a few more herbs to it as it was a little bit bland. It calls for 1 tablespoon of fresh marjoram and 2 tablespoons of fresh parsley so I used 1 and 2 teaspoons of dried instead but it wasn’t quite enough. I also halved the chili powder but I think that Little One and I could stand it with the full amount so I won’t reduce next time.

So, what do you think?

