Lentils and Rice with Caramelized Onions and Spiced Pita Crisps


This just sounded like such a lovely dish that I had to make it, simple and tasty was what the blurb said and indeed it was.

There are a few errors in the recipe, it tells you to add the allspice twice and also tells you to add ground cloves which aren’t on the ingredient list. I’m going looking for a corrections page for the book after I’ve posted this, I know there’s one up for Eat, Drink and Be Vegan but I’ve not seen a Veganomicon one yet.

I had a little trouble with cooking the rice and lentils slowly for 45 minutes. My pans just stick stuff to the bottom whenever I try this, I really need new pans as it’s incredibly frustrating and it doesn’t matter what heat I use, if I cook something for a long period of time there is always a burnt bit at the bottom. I ended up adding more water and then more cumin to make sure that the flavour was still there.

This is pretty bland until you add in the onions (I cooked my onions a lot longer than suggested as they weren’t brown enough for my liking after half an hour) it just all comes together and is lovely, the onions make this dish. I used less oil than the recipe called for on the onions, I just couldn’t get my head around 3/4 of a cup of oil so I used about half. I think it could have taken 3/4 and I may try it next time but I chickened out at half a cup this time!

The pita crisps were really nice as well, a great change to eating plain pita or having tortilla chips which I seem to serve with a lot of things at the moment! I used cumin on one of mine and lemon and pepper on the other and they were both lovely, although I will use less lemon and pepper next time as it was a little strong.

I will definitely be making this again and I’m going to try it with white rice as it might be a little less stodgy than the brown rice version I did this time.

So, what do you think?

