Chickpea Cutlets and Lemony Roasted Potatoes


Following along with everyone else who has a vegan blog and a copy of Veganomicon I made the Chickpea Cutlets over the weekend. Little One and I really enjoyed them, I do think I will bake them next time though to see if it firms up the middles a little bit more as mine were a bit stringy with the gluten threads which was a little off putting when eating them I found. They were really easy to put together though and there are 2 in the freezer for a future meal! The only change I would make would be to reduce or leave out the lemon zest. I found this with the bean balls as well, the lemon can overpower the other flavours a little bit which is sad when you have so many nice herbs in there.

The lemon was perhaps too much considering the side dish that I made with these. The Lemony Roasted potatoes were really easy to put together and very tasty. I did find that they took one hell of a lot longer to cook than the recipe stated though (yes, I do own an oven thermometer). Everything else was room temperature by the time the potatoes were done enough to eat and I resorted to putting them in a saucepan and boiling them as they’d not even reached boiling point in the oven when they should have been finished. I had the leftovers for lunch the next day and they were great so I’ll definitely be making them again, just putting them in the oven for at least an hour, perhaps longer.

So, what do you think?

