Butter Bean Soup and Cumin-Scented Sesame Flatbread


No picture of the soup as it was pretty basic pureed soup looking so not very interesting! I used the recipe as a guide to make this soup as my beans were already cooked and the recipe gives directions for using dried beans. I also doubled the water as I seemed to have a lot more veggies and beans than the recipe wanted. This was another one that Little One requested leftovers for lunch!

The flat bread was very easy to make and didn’t take much time except when it came to cooking, doing one at a time seemed to take forever, but as I don’t have a pan large enough to do 2 at a time I will have to bear that in mind next time I make them. I brushed mine with garlic oil made using directions in Nigella Express which I got for my Birthday and mixed the oil with the cumin before brushing it onto the bread. The recipe says to sprinkle the sesame seeds on the bread and then push them in a bit with your fingers but when we ate the bread there were sesame seeds all over the place so next time I will roll them into the bread with the rolling pin instead. The cumin and seeds gave what would have been pretty plain bread a really nice flavour and Little One and I both enjoyed it a lot (he will eat bread in any form though so he’s not much of a judge really!).

So, what do you think?

Butter Bean Soup and Cumin-Scented Sesame Flatbread


No picture of the soup as it was pretty basic pureed soup looking so not very interesting! I used the recipe as a guide to make this soup as my beans were already cooked and the recipe gives directions for using dried beans. I also doubled the water as I seemed to have a lot more veggies and beans than the recipe wanted. This was another one that Little One requested leftovers for lunch!

The flat bread was very easy to make and didn’t take much time except when it came to cooking, doing one at a time seemed to take forever, but as I don’t have a pan large enough to do 2 at a time I will have to bear that in mind next time I make them. I brushed mine with garlic oil made using directions in Nigella Express which I got for my Birthday and mixed the oil with the cumin before brushing it onto the bread. The recipe says to sprinkle the sesame seeds on the bread and then push them in a bit with your fingers but when we ate the bread there were sesame seeds all over the place so next time I will roll them into the bread with the rolling pin instead. The cumin and seeds gave what would have been pretty plain bread a really nice flavour and Little One and I both enjoyed it a lot (he will eat bread in any form though so he’s not much of a judge really!).

So, what do you think?

