Sweet Potato Pot Pie


This was an odd dish, I couldn’t quite figure out how it would go together and when I was eating it I still wasn’t convinced that it would. The bottom layer is polenta which isn’t flavoured with anything so it’s pretty plain. The middle layer is lentils (I used green, the recipe didn’t say what colour) which are cooked with some nice spices and a tin of tomatoes and the top layer is mashed sweet potato.


The lentils were really nice and the sweet potato was as nice as sweet potato normally is but the polenta was just dull and flavourless and didn’t do much for the dish. I think if I make this again I will leave out the polenta and just do the lentil/potato mix and that might work better.

As you can see from the top picture the recipe made a ton as well, Little One and I hardly made a dent in it and as it wasn’t that nice I can’t see myself using it up if I freeze it so after I have some for lunch the rest will go to waste. I find it hard sometimes to judge recipes and how much they will make, it’s something that I need to work on so that I don’t waste as much food or end up eating stuff day after day for lunch.

So, what do you think?

