Chickpea Sensation Patties and Maple-Glazed Winter Squash with Garlic and Ginger


The patties were really easy to make with things that I have on hand most of the time. I managed to get 11 of them out of the full recipe. The only thing I didn’t like about these were that they were a bit soggy in the middle. The one I had cold with some leftover rice a couple of days later was more set in the middle and I think if I reheat them ones I’ve frozen in the oven it will solve the problem. In fact I think in the future I will cook them in the oven rather than frying.

The squash was a huge disappointment. I was really looking forward to this dish, it’s flavours that I adore so mixing them all together sounded wonderful. Unfortunately as soon as I took off the lid of the slow cooker I knew that I wouldn’t enjoy them. For some reason when you slow cook raw garlic it has this horrible acrid taste and smell to it. I used a bit too much garlic in a parsnip soup I made in the slow cooker once and it smelled exactly like this squash did. I tried to eat it but didn’t get very far and ended up throwing the rest away which made it a pretty expensive mistake really. I’m not sure if cooking the garlic first would help or not, I don’t know if I have the nerve to try it again and waste another £1.50 on butternut squash. I’m wondering if it would work better in the oven or not, I’ve never had oven cooked garlic come out tasting this way so it has to have something to do with the slow cooker.

So, what do you think?

