Mixed Vegetable Picadillo


This is basically a spicy vegetable stew with tomatoes, courgette, carrots, red pepper, green pepper, mushrooms, sweetcorn, celery, onion, garlic, tvp and red chili.

I deseeded the chili and washed my hands twice with soap after cutting it and still hurt my eye when I rubbed it later that evening! I don’t normally use fresh chilis but I thought I would give it a go and I was glad that I only put 2/3 of it in, it was hot but not so hot that it hurt to eat it!

The other spices and herbs are oregano, paprika and cumin and with the chili and vegetables it comes together really well. The recipe says to serve with tortillas and rice but I didn’t have any tortillas, I can see how nice it would be with the rice wrapped in a tortilla though so next time I make this I will try it that way.

So, what do you think?

