Cupcakes!

For Jim’s first birthday I made cupcakes, they were actually the last non-vegan cakes I ever made as I went vegan not long after. So, when Piggle’s first birthday came along I thought it only fair that I make cupcakes for him. Out came the copy of Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World (bought in Food Fight in Portland) and away I went with the Chocolate Mint cupcakes which disappeared at an amazing speed. I unfortunately forgot to take photos of those cupcakes (or many of his birthday in general, terrible Mother!) but it seems that from that date forward I am now considered the cupcake baker for all family events.

My older sister’s 40th birthday was in July so out came the book again and after reading her the selection over the telephone she choose the Carrot Cake Cupcakes with Vegan Cream Cheese Frosting (minus the raisins), there were so many of us attending her ‘do’ that I made a double batch of them and used walnuts to decorate the top of them:


Again, these disappeared like nobody’s business and it’s definitely a recipe that I will make again, if only so my older sister can have more than the one she managed to score on the day, poor birthday girl!

My Dad’s birthday do was this last weekend and the family cried out for the mint cupcakes again. I made them, the icing and the ganache and let my younger sister do the decorating, this is what they came out like


and they were gone amazingly fast once again, no leftovers for him to take home!

The only other birthday treat I don’t think I’ve posted about was Jim’s birthday way back in April. He requested chocolate cake with chocolate icing (easier than the vanilla cake with chocolate icing he requested last year) so I made an Aunt Bonnie’s Wacky Cake from How It All Vegan with a double batch of chocolate icing from VCTOTW and it was very yummy.


It was suggested that perhaps I should start trying to sell my vegan baked goods, but I think that would take the fun out of it. Plus, if I made them for money I’d not get to eat them!

So, what do you think?

