Seitan and Broccoli Stir-Fry

I couldn’t believe that I’d not posted recipes from this book before as I’ve used it several times since I bought it, but then I realised that I got it for myself as a housewarming present so I’d cooked those meals when I didn’t have internet access. I’m repeating one of the dishes this week so you’ll get to see that one as well as this dish that I made last night.

This is a really simple stir fry and took only minutes to cook which is always a bonus. Again, the white rice, but as we’d had brown rice the night before I decided that white would at least be a little bit different.

The recipe calls for 2 heads of broccoli but I only used one as that was all I had and Jim isn’t all that keen on broccoli (managed to get him to eat 1 piece last night after a lot of convincing) and there was more than enough for the three of us plus enough for Piggle to have for lunch today as well (Piggle just loves *food* which is why I don’t comment on whether he likes stuff or not, the only thing I’ve found that he won’t eat is cauliflower on it’s own, but he’ll eat it in stuff. If the day comes when he doesn’t eat something believe me I’ll post about it!). I would say that it makes the 4 servings from the 4-6 estimation of the recipe, I guess if you had side dishes as well as rice you could stretch it to 6 but as it’s such a lovely meal I’d prefer a large helping of it rather than just a little!

The seitan I use is this one:

It can be found in Chinese supermarkets, although I’ve not found any in this area and the husband brought me 10 cans of it a couple of times ago when we exchanged the boys so I could keep my stash up! I also use the mock duck version of it but there’s another one that I can’t remember the name of that I didn’t enjoy. It costs 95p per tin (about $1.80) and I used 2 cans in this recipe, so it’s not the cheapest thing in the world and I can’t use it as much as I’d like to. I thought I had found a different kind of seitan from an online shop and was really excited about it until I saw that it cost ¬£3.99 (about $7.50) for 500g which is just far too expensive for my tastes!

Anyway, loved this meal and will definitely be making it again, perhaps I can get Jim to eat 2 pieces of broccoli next time….

So, what do you think?

