Salad Dressings

No photos as salad dressing is salad dressing really!

I am not the kind of girl who can eat a salad plain, I have to have some sort of dressing on it and I’m always looking for new ones to try out, preferably ones that I don’t have to buy anything for and that don’t cost a fortune to make (hello half a cup of flax seed oil recipes, that’s £3, around $5.40, before you add any other ingredients….). I have now tried two of them from Extra Vegan Za with differing results.

The first was Orange Vinaigrette which is what I used last week’s organic orange in (I’m not a big orange eater but I do like the juice). I can’t make up my mind about this dressing, I’ve written in the book next to it ‘interesting’ and that’s the only opinion that I can really stand behind. I think that the nutritional yeast in it may have been it’s downfall, it just didn’t mesh well with the other flavours. I will have to make this one again to see if I really do like it or not but I did eat it so it can’t have been all that bad!

The second one I made is the Sesame Maple Ginger Lime Dressing, I needed something with some strong flavours to combat my cold! I really enjoyed this dressing, although I did make one change to the recipe in reducing the amount of ginger from 2 tablespoons to 1 as when I tasted it I thought that any more ginger would be overpowering. It has tahini in it which really works well, probably the best use of tahini I’ve come across as I’m not a big fan of the stuff. My salad was pretty plain, just lettuce, cucumber and tomatoes as that’s all I had to hand but the dressing made it taste a lot more special. It makes enough to last me about 4 days which is plenty as I get bored of eating the same thing around that time. I tend to have everything this recipe calls for in the house anyway (bottled rather than fresh lime juice) so I can see it popping up over and over when I want something with nice bold flavours.

So, what do you think?

