Black Bean and Zucchini Chilaquiles

I’ve made this before and we all enjoyed it but it was while I was offline so it didn’t get posted to the blog. It’s a very simple recipe where you make a mix of beans, tomatoes, green pepper, onion, zucchini and spices and then layer it with vegan cheese and torn up tortillas. I used the garlic and coriander ones I found on sale and they were really nice in it I thought. I also used the rest of the Scheese and as you can see it doesn’t melt but goes crispy instead (in fact Cheezly does the same unless you melt it in a sauce…).

Once it’s baked for a little while it all comes together in a really pleasing way. Jim said to me the next day that it was a really lovely dinner so it’s a keeper in this household! Piggle also ate a load of it and had some for lunch the next day (as did I as it was really cold and I didn’t want salad).

The only change I made was to put in chili powder rather than a fresh chili as I didn’t have one. I know that I can put up to 1 teaspoon of chili powder in and we can all enjoy the taste but not burn out mouths off. I finally figured out why American recipes call for tablespoons of the stuff when reading a cookbook I bought which only has chili recipes in it and it’s because US chili powder has other spices in it whereas UK chili powder is just the chili powder and nothing else. So beware if you’re following a US recipe with UK chili powder!

So, another easy tasty meal enjoyed by a household that loves Mexican style dishes!

So, what do you think?

