Veggies for the Week

This week’s box was a goody, of course it comes on a week where I won’t have the boys at the weekend so there seems like a ton to use up for only 5 meals! This week I got tomatoes, cauliflower, broccoli, potatoes, swede, onions, red onions, butternut squash, runner beans and carrots.

I’m loving that they’re not repeating stuff too often, I was worried I was going to get another bag of spinach as I still have some of the last lot left to blanch and put in the freezer for future use. I need to remember that I can freeze stuff though, I don’t think I’ll use that whole swede up so I need to look and see how to freeze that. I would never buy a swede that big (rutabaga in the US I believe), I’d normally only get one half the size! I can use it for swede and carrots or mash it in with potatoes in future weeks though so it will be worth having.

This is the fruit for the week, the bananas from last week still aren’t ripe amazingly! I think they might get there by the end of this week if we’re lucky. The fruit bag is making sure that I actually eat fruit, I don’t get a shot at the bananas as those are Jim’s favourites but I am eating a lot more than I used to which can only be a good thing.

So, the menu for this week is shorter and I wasn’t feeling too inventive this time around so they are pretty simple dishes that should be filling and warming now the weather is changing.

Corn Chowder from Rose Elliots Vegetarian Cookery
Sosmix Sausage, Baked Beans and Mashed Potatoes (kid friendly meal, I like to throw these in now and again to keep them happy!)
Black Bean and Butternut Squash Chili Vegan Planet
Broccoli and Cauliflower Gratin using the sauce from the baked mac and cheese in Yellow Rose Recipes and some smoked Scheese we found yesterday
Stew using up loads of the leftover vegetables and tvp chunks, will make this up as I go along

I will have carrots, cucumber and tomatoes left for my lunches so I think I will just make a mix of them with dressings and maybe make some more crackers to go along with it and some of the lettuce I have growing in the back yard that’s not getting used at all for some reason…

Right, off to get some bread going to have with our soup tonight and put in the freezer for Jim’s sandwiches next week. I also need to make some cookies and turf out the last of those whoopie pie ones as they were getting soggier and soggier by the day….

So, what do you think?

