Veggies Veggies Veggies

I can’t believe how excited I get when the vegetable box arrives and I’m pulling stuff out of it to see what I got! This week I was much more into finding recipes and using the produce for nice new dishes so I made the menu right away and can’t wait to get started cooking!

This week we got carrots, runner beans, a cucumber, cauliflower, broccoli, mushrooms (I was so excited to see these, I haven’t bought any mushrooms in a while!), red onions, white onions, celery, potatoes and a huge bag of gorgeous rainbow chard.

So, I intend to cook the following next week:

Stir Fried Savory Noodles and Vegetables – Authentic Chinese Cuisine
Curried Pasta with Cauliflower and Chickpeas – Vegetarian Family Favourites
Roasted Potato and Kale Enchiladas – Veganomicon
Sesame Kale Soba – Get It Ripe
Sausages, Mashed Potatoes and Baked Beans (I did pasta for a quick meal instead this week)
Carrots and Peas – Spicy Vegan
Garlicky Cream of Celery Soup – Vegetarian Soups for All Seasons

I know that I have chard and not kale but I tend to think of them as being interchangeable and I have wanted to make the Kale Soba since I got Get it Ripe. The Enchiladas I saw on someones blog this week and they looked delicious so I’m hoping that Jim will eat the chard when it’s hidden in Mexican food which he adores (I don’t see myself having much luck getting it down him with the noodles but I will try). The soup is a desperate attempt to get rid of the 4 heads of celery I now have in the fridge! I am not a huge celery soup fan so adding a ton of garlic to it seems like it might be a good way to get me to eat more of it, we will see.

I don’t have a plan for the runner beans, they were the only thing that escaped me this week so I may freeze those if I can’t think of something to serve them with. No tomatoes this week which is actually good as last week was so cold I didn’t want to eat salad and I still have most of them left (tomatoes are the only thing I’ve thrown away from the boxes I’ve had but only a few of them). I do intend to eat them with a *lot* of cucumber as I now have 3 of them in the fridge!

This was the fruit for the week which joins most of the fruit from next week (except for the bananas which Jim always finishes). I must make sure I eat more this week so it doesn’t go to waste.

I still have the Butternut Squash and Black Bean Chili to make from last week’s menu and then it’s shopping again and the exciting call of brand new dishes with these lovely vegetables!

So, what do you think?

