Black Bean and Butternut Squash Chili

I love the way this chili looks, the black beans with the bright orange butternut squash is so pretty. Robin Robertson says that it’s her traditional Halloween dish and I can see why!

It’s a very simple recipe not calling for anything unusual and it takes about an hour start to finish to make (depending of course on how adept you are at cutting up a butternut squash!). I had used up the last of my tomato puree so instead of the water and tomato puree I used the same amount of passata (I have no idea what passata is called in America, it’s thick strained tomatoes) and it worked out fine, lucky find there in the back of the cupboard while I was frantically searching to see if I had a spare puree hidden anywhere! I used about half a jalapeno (I have a jar of pickled ones I found a while back) but didn’t seed it and I also used 3/4 tsp of chili powder (as discussed before UK chili powder is just the chilis with no other spices). Actually, thinking about the chili powder just being chili perhaps I should be adding some coriander and cumin to all my dishes that call for a tablespoon or more of chili powder and meaning the US kind, hadn’t thought of that before…

Anyway, I served this over the last of the white rice that I had and Piggle and I really enjoyed it. Jim ate all the squash, some rice and a few beans but wasn’t all that impressed.

I love chili so I tend to make a new recipe every time as I have so many of them, but this one will make it into the rotation when I’m done experimenting for sure.

So, what do you think?

