Here’s The Veggies

So the fruit and veg arrived again and it’s another lovely box full of goodies to cook with. This week we got leeks (very excited to see these, I’ve been waiting for them!), broccoli (I hope broccoli season is almost over as we’re getting a bit tired of it), potatoes, onions (some good sized ones this time), carrots, kale (of course since I used the kale recipes last week with the chard!), another swede (I still have half the last one left, good job these things keep for ages!), some baby tomatoes and a giant butternut squash.

I don’t have the boys over the weekend so I only needed to come up with 4 dishes which would use as much of the veg as possible.

I also got this in the post:

I saw Liz from Cooking The Vegan Books was making her own seitan and as she’s a UK blogger I questioned her about where she was buying her vital wheat gluten and she put me onto The Low Carb Megastore who have it for £2.80 a kilo. Their postage is £4.75 though so to make it worthwhile I ordered 4 bags and am looking forward to no longer having to discount recipes because I don’t have any vital wheat gluten!

So, bearing in mind the vwg and the veggies this is what I came up with:

Chickpea Cutlets – Veganomicon with swede and carrots (a very English dish, probably invented to use up all that extra swede, basically you just mash them together, I’m hoping the boys will eat it!) and some kind of roast potatoes.

Curried Squash and Pear Soup – Extra Vegan Za This will only use about half the squash, it’s a huge one! Also a good way to use up some of the fruit and some carrots.

Garlicky Broccoli, Corn and Bean Burritos – Eat Drink and Be Vegan. Again hiding the vegetables inside Mexican food to get Jim to eat them, I’m going to chop it up small so he can’t tell it’s broccoli!

Mashed Garlic Potatoes and Kale – How It All Vegan with butternut squash (will probably roast it) and Seitan O’Greatness from the PPK Forums. I’m probably one of the last people in the blogosphere to try this and I’ve wanted to for ages so I’m excited to give it a go.

I will use up the leeks when I’m alone over the weekend by caramelising them with some onions and having them on pasta, one of my favourite dishes but a little bit plain for the boys.

I will have some swede and some carrots leftover (along with potatoes and onions) but all those keep well and will come in handy for future meals so I’m not too worried.

This was the fruit for the week:

and my lunch from the other day in an attempt to get the fruit bowl under control!

The Birthday cake I ate after the fruit probably didn’t make it as healthy a lunch as it looks…. Blogger is being odd and has turned the picture on it’s side for some unknown reason…

So, here’s to anther week of good cooking, hopefully it will be as tasty as it sounds and it will be nice to make some more ‘traditional’ meals with vegetables on the side rather than my usual stews, chilis etc which seem to be my staple.

So, what do you think?

