Garlicky Broccoli, Corn and Bean Burritos with Melty White Cheez

I didn’t think I’d ever meet a burrito I didn’t like, but with this dish I met my match. I really didn’t think that any of the flavours in this dish worked with each other, it was just a terrible mish mash of tastes and not enough of any one of them for the taste buds to have anything to work with. Even the broccoli seemed out of place, which was odd considering it was the main ingredient for the filling. I wondered if perhaps I’d done something wrong, missed a flavour that would have pulled it all together or something, but looking at the recipe I actually didn’t change anything except cutting the amount of curry powder in the beans (and I think stronger curry flavoured beans would have made it worse instead of better).

Strangely enough Jim said he liked it, but I think he mainly ate the cheese (I used this recipe a lot and we all really like it), tortillas and sweetcorn and ignored the rest!

It was impossible to get a decent picture of these cut open, this was the best of the bunch. I did like the beans in the recipe, although if I use them again I’ll use chili powder rather than curry powder in them.

It’s been a while since I cooked something I really didn’t like and didn’t want to finish. Luckily Piggle isn’t so picky yet and maybe it tastes better all blended together anyway, poor boy has the leftovers for two lunches to come!

So, what do you think?

