And The Veggies Of The Week Are…..

My veggies didn’t arrive before I left to drop the boys off with their Dad so I didn’t get to spend my Friday afternoon in the usual lovely pursuit of recipes to use for the week. However, I did spend Friday evening doing that instead and finding ways to use these vegetables.

We got another huge butternut squash, onions, celery, carrots, yet more broccoli (!), potatoes, leeks, cauliflower and one ear of sweetcorn.

So, I came up with the following (7 meals as I have the boys next weekend):

1. Red Lentil Cauliflower Curry – Veganomicon – with rice

2. Leek and Bean Cassoulet With Biscuits – Veganomicon – with runner beans (from last week’s box)

3. Broccoli Cheeze Soup – Table For Two – with bread of some sort

4. Almost All American Seitan Potpie – Veganomicon – with runner beans

5. Wheat Meat Stroganoff – Vegan Planet – with tagliatelle

6. Beans in Leek Sauce – The Bean Book – with roast potatoes

7. Hearty Winter Roots Soup – Vegetarian Soups for All Seasons – with bread of some sort

I realised that I didn’t find a use for the butternut squash, but it’s not going to go off anytime soon so I’m not worried about it. I just couldn’t face soup from it again 2 weeks in a row and none of my recipe books gave me anything else interesting to do with it (besides risotto but I didn’t fancy that for some reason). I just hope we don’t get another one next week or I’ll be over run with them! I didn’t put the sweetcorn in anything either, I’m thinking perhaps I’ll have it for lunch one day.

This was the fruit for the week:

I am thinking of plum crumble one night to use them up and I used up some apples from previous weeks plus some that my sister gave me off the tree from her garden to make a huge pot of applesauce which I will freeze in 1/4 cup portions for future use.

So, what do you think?

