Broccoli Cheddar Cheeze Soup and Leek and Bean Cassoulet

I seem to be lucky with Table For Two, it’s a pretty old book (1996) but the recipes have held up well and are very simple to make. They also make just enough to feed a grown up and 2 children which means that there’s no waste and we’re not eating leftovers for days on end.

Blogger again making you turn your head to the side….

This soup is potato, carrot and onion boiled and then you add firm silken tofu, nutritional yeast, dried garlic and onion and soya milk to it and blend it all up. I used the whole package of tofu as I don’t have anything to use the extra 2ozs that would have been left for. I steamed the broccoli over the vegetables as they cooked and instead of putting the florets in whole like the recipe suggests I pureed them as well, again so there were no arguments about what Jim would or wouldn’t eat. Jim helped me make the crackers from Everyday Dish again and he loved them and had fun doing it.

The soup is really nice and cheesy tasting and very rich and thick, I could have thinned it a bit more with soya milk as it was a tad thick but we all enjoyed it anyway and Piggle had the leftovers for lunch the next day.

I’ve blogged this Cassolet before but I am proud of the way it turned out so I will show you a picture of it anyway!

I used canellini beans as they were what came out of the freezer first. The biscuits came out really well this time despite the mixture being too wet and my having to add a few more handfuls of flour into it to thicken it up as I went along. This would be such a nice dish to serve to guests, putting the cast iron pan on the table looking like this would impress anyone, and I’m looking forward to the leftovers for lunch on this cold day (I’ll have to share with Piggle but there’s plenty left so I don’t mind).

So, what do you think?

