Butternut Squash, Corn and Cilantro Phyllo Rolls with Teryaki Quinoa

I haven’t used The Real Food Daily Cookbook much before, in fact I think I only have made one thing in the past from it and that was the fake cheese and I wasn’t that impressed. I find the recipes call for a lot of things I don’t tend to have to hand and can be a little complicated for weeknight cooking. It’s a beautiful book though so it’s a shame I don’t use it more.

These phyllo rolls were pretty annoying to make. Dinner was really late as the phyllo pastry was a real pain in the ass to work with, when it defrosted parts of it stuck together and it was completely ripped down the middle. I always intended to make bigger rolls than the recipe called for, these are in the starter section and the recipe says it make 24 small rolls, I made 3 big rolls and 4 smaller rolls from it and that worked out fine as my Mother, Piggle and I had the leftovers for lunch the next day.

The filling mixture is lovely, the butternut squash, corn, carrots and cabbage work really well together. I used dried coriander (cilantro) as there wasn’t a fresh plant in the supermarket and it worked fine. I did have a minor cock up when I discovered that I hadn’t read the recipe properly and it called for tofu ricotta cheese. When I looked at the recipe in the book I knew there was no way I would be making it, not only did I not have any firm tofu in the house but it requires 2/3 of a cup of miso (yellow, which I didn’t have anyway) and 1/2 a cup of tahini which makes it incredibly expensive in my book. Instead I used soft silken tofu as that was all I had in and the recipe from The Ultimate Uncheese Cookbook but didn’t boil the tofu as it was soft enough. I drained it in a sieve before putting it in the rolls as it was very wet but the taste was really nice and my Mother said it did taste like ricotta so that was good as I can’t remember what ricotta tastes like anymore.

I will make these rolls again in the future but not on a weeknight as it was just too much work.

The quinoa on the other hand was a complete disaster. I’m not sure what I did wrong but mine looks nothing like the pictures online from other people who have made it. I did use mushroom soy sauce instead of tamari as I didn’t have enough tamari but instead of absorbing the liquid it just came out all wet and sloppy (as you can see in the photograph) and it was far too salty (and would have been with the tamari as well I think). Not sure if I’ll give it another go in the future or not but it doesn’t help my enthusiasm about Eat Drink and Be Vegan, I’m not a big fan of the book and don’t think it’s as good as her previous two.

So, what do you think?

