The Vegetables

I’m running out of good titles for these vegetable box posts, perhaps I will think of one title and label them all that way to save the brain power of trying to think of something to call them!

This week we had another cauliflower, a huge bag of broccoli (can you hear the mental scream from having to find yet another broccoli dish?!?), swede (which gives me 2 and a half of these in the fridge), carrots, onions, potatoes, another huge butternut squash and celery.

So the menu for this week looks as so:

1. Sweet and Sour Pumpkin (using the butternut squash) with chapatis – Spicy Vegan

2. Samurai Seitan with Broccoli (yay, broccoli!) and garlic – Vegan World Fusion Cuisine (never used this book before) with rice noodles.

3. Sahibs Split Pea and Roasted Parsnip Soup – Vegan World Fusion Cuisine with bread of some sort.

4. Cauliflower Patties – The Cookbook For People Who Love Animals (another first time usage) with Braised Carrots with Soy-Peanut Glaze from Peanut Butter Planet (third first usage) and potatoes of some sort.

5. Seitanic Red and White Bean Jambalaya – Veganomicon

6. Green Pea and Lemon Risotto with Roasted Red Peppers – Veganomicon

7. Chickpea and Spinach Curry – Vegan With a Vengeance and rice (using the frozen spinach I have and the fresh I grew in a tub)

There is a lot of rice on there this week, sometimes I do that and end up using one ingredient an awful lot, I remember shopping trips before the vegetable box where I would buy 6 red peppers as they were in everything I had planned for the week! I didn’t use the leeks in anything or any swede so I am going to have to freeze some of this swede this week before it takes over the house, the leeks will last another week and hopefully we’ll get a couple more which will be enough to make something (perhaps leek and potato soup). There is also quite a bit of spice in there but if I space it out with the non-spicy stuff I should be ok. I must remember not to attempt those cauliflower patties on a weeknight, it’s definitely a Sunday kind of meal doing the carrots as well and something nice with the potatoes (probably roasted as we like them that way).

I’m also using up both pieces of seitan that I have in the freezer so next week I get to make some more, yay!

And this is the fruit for the week, not fair trade bananas this time, I guess they buy whatever they find at a reasonable price for the fruit bags. I must make some orange juice or do *something* with the four oranges I now have in the fruit bowl, I’m not an orange eater and neither is Jim. Besides the oranges though and some apples which are getting past their prime I am trying to eat a few pieces of fruit a day to keep the bowl under control. The grapes from last week were lovely but they had seeds in them so Jim wouldn’t eat them and I couldn’t give them to Piggle without having to mess about too much.

So, what do you think?

