Sweet and Sour Pumpkin (Khatta Meetha Kaddu) and Chapatis

…Imagine a Picture of a white bowl with
mashed Butternut Squash in it here
with chapatis on the side…

I have had a rough week and the day I made this was particularly busy and rushed as I needed to feed us all dinner (including my Mother) on time so that I could get to Jim’s Parent Teacher meeting on time. Therefore when it came time to serve up I totally forgot to get my camera out. It wouldn’t have been a very interesting photo but I do like to try and post something, even if it’s just a visual reminder for myself in case I’m thinking of making this again in the future.

This dish is incredibly simple, the only vegetable in it is pumpkin, however I substituted butternut squash for that which worked out just fine. Besides the squash there are lots of spices, some oil, some sugar and some water. The recipe says you can use up to 2 cups of water depending on how mushy you want it, I used half a cup and that was plenty for us.

The only thing I need to remember about this dish is that it doesn’t make a whole lot. I think it’s meant to be part of a spread rather than just a main dish on it’s own and I’d say it makes 3 adult sized portions whereas most of the recipes in this book feed more.

The chapatis I have made before and luckily I examined my chapati flour before using it as once again I was struck with bugs in the flour. The chapati flour was really old, I only bought it because I’d made chapatis and saw specific chapati flour in a shop so I got it. I used 2/3 white flour and 1/3 wholemeal flour and it worked out just fine (I always halve the recipe in this book or else it makes 12 chapatis which is far too many for us). I used my cast iron griddle for the first time ever and once I’d figured out how to get it heated properly on an electric stove it worked really well and the bread puffed up and browned nicely.

This is definitely a keeper.

So, what do you think?

