Samurai Seitan with Broccoli and Garlic


I have been off my food this week and really not in the mood for cooking because of it which is, as you might have guessed from reading this blog, really not normal for me. Usually my emotions drive me towards the food rather than away from it but this time they have made me queasy which has made the whole getting dinner ready thing, and even picking what to make, very hard and eating it even harder.

This is one of those recipes that when you read the ingredients you assume you’re making one thing and when you actually cook it you realise it’s something different. I thought this was a stir fry as my brain didn’t pick up the cup of water you add to it which means it’s actually a stew. However, despite it not being what I thought it was and despite having to force myself to eat it it was a tasty dish that I’m sure I’ll make again. It was really quick to cook (14 minutes cooking time plus prep) which was also good with my not having the energy to mess about in the kitchen.

It’s got seitan (1lb of the big loaf I made), green pepper, onion, mushrooms, garlic, broccoli, peas (should have been snow peas but I didn’t buy any because they’re expensive), soy sauce, mirin and worcestershire sauce which I thought sounded odd but actually worked ok.

As I thought it was a stir fry I served it over rice noodles but it would actually work well with potatoes, grain or rice too. Piggle really enjoyed it and Jim picked out all the seitan and ate it along with some peas!

So, what do you think?

