Seitanic Red and White Bean Jambalaya

I worked away making this big meal (and lord does it make a ton!) only to discover when we sat down to eat that Jim didn’t feel well and didn’t want any dinner so Piggle and I ended up eating it for several days for lunch!

It’s a really easy dish to put together and besides some kidney beans and a green pepper it used stuff that I generally have on hand so it wasn’t very expensive to make. I used up the last bit of the seitan loaf that I’d made too so now I can think about what kind of seitan I’d like to make next.

I didn’t read the recipe properly (do we see a theme here?!?) so had a slight delay as I heated the oven, I thought it was cooked on top of the cooker but after you’ve put everything together you put it in the oven for 30-35 minutes which actually makes it easier to make as you don’t have to stir it constantly to make sure your rice isn’t sticking to the bottom of the pot. The taste was lovely and everything combined really well, I will make this again but next time I will probably halve the recipe and use either white or red kidney beans to save having half a tin leftover of each from the halving process.

As usual I managed to burn myself on the lid of my Le Crueset pot as well, I swear I need to find some heat resistant paint and write on top of it ‘the handle gets hot you idiot’ as my brain says ‘plastic handle’ and I always forget to use an oven glove to take the lid off it when it comes out of the oven… Luckily I managed not to drop it and to put it down quickly so my fingertips weren’t too burnt. Don’t you hate it when you repeat the same mistakes in the kitchen over and over again??

So, what do you think?

