I’ve Made These Before

But I thought I would post them again as I’m actually running short of things to post about at the moment, I must have not made as many new dishes recently!

This was some roasted vegetables. I used some leftover butternut squash, swede, carrots, brussel sprouts, mushrooms, onion and some potatoes. I put some salt and agave nectar in with the oil and they were very tasty. We all really enjoyed it, in fact Jim asked me to keep the leftovers for him the next day for lunch rather than giving them to Piggle!

When I was putting the agave nectar in I remembered from my pre-vegan days how I used to do roasted vegetables. I would drizzle them with honey and use Chinese 5 Spice on them and they always had a really lovely taste. I’ve added the Chinese 5 Spice to my shopping list as I ran out an age ago and never replaced it and I will use either agave or maple syrup next time I roast vegetables and see if I can recreate the taste that I’m remembering.

This is the Cauliflower and Mushroom Potpie with Black Olive Crust that I made before and talked about here

I really like this dish and it’s very tasty, I do find it takes slightly longer to make though than the hour that the recipe says (again, I must be a slow cook). I don’t bother making a roux for the white sauce, instead I use my usual method of throwing all the ingredients in together and stirring it almost constantly until the sauce is thick and cooked, life’s too short to be prying roux from the bottom of a saucepan and trying to get the lumps out of the sauce. I also use only 1 tsp of tarragon rather than 2 as 2 was too much for me the first time I made it. We all really enjoyed this one too and Piggle had some leftovers the next day for lunch. The crust came out better this time without the olives, it was flakier and tastier so I think I will leave them out from now on.

So, what do you think?

