Pasta with Hearty Lentil and Spinach Sauce

I can’t really give this recipe a fair rating as we were all poorly when I made it and Piggle threw up on the table halfway through which put me totally off my meal, the joys of having sick children.

Also the ex used up one of the jars of pasta sauce feeding the kids over the weekend (he came here to see them as they were too ill to travel) so I added some water to it instead of all the sauce which made it too watery.

However, the taste was really nice and I will be trying it again, it’s basically a combination of lentils, onion, garlic, red pepper (was supposed to be green but the supermarket didn’t have any), mushrooms, spinach and jarred pasta sauce. It’s supposed to be served over penne but the ex also used up all the pasta shapes so we had it over linguine instead.

I’m always a little befuddled when US recipes call for lentils as I don’t know what colour they mean. I’m presuming this one actually meant brown or green as it calls for you to boil them for 30-40 minutes, I used red instead and those only take about 15 minutes to cook. Come on recipe book authors, give us a clue as to lentil colour please!

So you cook the pasta, cook the lentils, saute the vegetables, add the sauce and spinach to the vegetables with the cooked lentils and simmer for 10 minutes and then throw it all on top of the cooked pasta. Pretty damn easy. It made a ton so next time I’ve made a note to only make half, that will be more than enough for us and for some leftover for Piggle’s lunches.

Next time I make this I will try it with green lentils and rate it again to give a fairer review, I only ate half a bowl of it and was too sick to deal with the leftovers so I ended up throwing them away which I hate doing. It’s definitely a hearty dish though and perfect for cold winter nights.

So, what do you think?

