Cauliflower and Potato Spice Soup

As I said when I posted the menu for the week this book is a collection of soup recipes from different chefs. This one is by Anthony Worrall Thompson and it was obviously written before he went on his diet kick and started cooking healthier food!

Not only does the recipe call for butter but it also has coconut milk, coconut and cream in it, way to clog those arteries AWT! Besides the fattening elements it has cauliflower (no, really!?!), potatoes (what a surprise), garlic, onion, dessicated coconut, chili, coriander seeds, mustard seeds, fenugreek seeds, cumin seeds, pepper, turmeric, paprika, ginger and stock.

It was pretty easy to put together and we all enjoyed it (my Mother was here for dinner and she liked it too). Even after it’s blended the coconut still gives it texture. I cut the amount of cream that I put in it but next time I’m thinking that I won’t bother with adding it at all as it mellows out the spices a bit too much for me so instead of getting a nice mouthful of taste you get something creamy with a tiny hint of spice.

I’ll make this again I’m sure though, we do like our soup around here!

So, what do you think?

