Fall Harvest

This recipe is from the Hugger Food blog. When I looked more closely at what I had presumed to be a small pumpkin in my vegetable box it turned out to be a squash that I don’t know the name of so it was even more suited to giving this a go. This recipe appealed to me as soon as I read it so I was looking forward to giving it a go. The entry says that it’s a time-consuming dish but I really didn’t find it to be that way, next time I will put the pasta on before preparing the vegetables and that will speed it up a bit more as I was standing around waiting for the pasta to cook after the vegetables were ready (I used the pan I cooked the pasta in to make the sauce to cut down on the dishes).

So with the pasta you have some crushed red pepper (I only added a tiny bit because of the boys but it still had a nice warmth to it), garlic, squash, parsnip, sage, nutmeg, allspice, cheese, margarine, flour and milk. The last 3 are to make the sauce which also uses a cup of the pasta water.

I added extra pasta to mine as I didn’t think the 8ozs was enough for the vegetables. I probably used 10-12 ozs and I will do the same next time as it came out just the right proportions for us. I used the last of a block of Cheezly mixed into the pasta and Scheese on top of it rather than vegan mozzarella which I think has no taste at all. I think the smoked Scheese would add something to this as well so if I have any about I will add it next time. Also, I think if you don’t have a squash in your life at this point that sweet potatoes would work well as a substitution, you just need something a little sweet and orange in it!

You know what I just realised? I wondered why I had only bought 1 red pepper when I was cooking last night and had to use the yellow one instead. For some reason I got it into my head that this dish had a red pepper in it so I added one, I see what it is now, in the instructions it says add the red pepper instead of add the crushed red pepper, easily confused! Anyway, it tasted lovely with the red pepper so I will add it to the recipe and add it next time as well! I also added an onion to mine as I am of the school of thinking that an onion can only make a dish better!

This was a hit all around (although Piggle is still not well and isn’t eating well), Jim even had seconds which is pretty much unheard of and had seconds at lunchtime the next day too! This could easily do us 2 meals had I not fed it to them at lunchtime and then frozen the rest for Piggle’s lunches. It’s a definite repeat again meal for me and I’m looking forward to the time when I can make it again!

So, what do you think?

