Chickpea Broccoli Casserole

I hadn’t pulled out Vegan With A Vengeance in ages so searching for yet another recipe to use broccoli in I found this one. I’ve read mixed reviews of it on the internet but figured I’d give it a go and see what we thought of it.

It’s incredibly simple to prepare, you just throw all the ingredients into a baking dish and then put it in the oven for an hour in total. I was a little worried that it wouldn’t come out completely cooked but it was fine. I used only 2 tins of chickpeas in mine as I thought that 3 was a little over the top, I also mashed up the chickpeas with the stick blender as a fork or a potato masher never works for me and I just end up with sore hands and frustrated. You also put in an onion, grated carrots, the broccoli, chives (I actually went outside and cut what few chives I have, yay me!), bread crumbs, olive oil, vegetable stock and salt.

As you can see we had ours with a baked potato and it was a really nice filling meal. The casserole is pretty plain, if you’re looking for set your world alight flavours you won’t find it with this dish, but it is a nice simple filling and tasty meal and I’m sure I’ll use it again in the future.

So, what do you think?

