Barbecue Baked Tofu with Mushrooms and Bell Peppers

I have actually made this dish twice before, as the mess all over the recipe book pages would show you if you could see them, however it was during my period where I couldn’t blog so I’ve never posted about it.

This dish is really simple to put together, you marinade the tofu and vegetables for a while and then roast them for a while before adding the really tasty barbecue sauce and roasting it a little bit longer. The sauce is made from tomato paste, peanut butter, apple cider vinegar, chili powder, mustard, blackstrap molasses, garlic and pepper. It calls for cayenne but I always leave that out and this time I added a little bit of liquid smoke to it which worked really well.

I served it with rice this time, the reason the rice is a funny colour is that I cooked it in vegetable stock to give it a little more flavour, it worked nicely.

Both the boys like this dish and I always enjoy it so it will go around in the menu rotation for a good while yet!

So, what do you think?

