Baked Penne with Broccoli and Tofu

Please excuse me while I dump out all these things I’ve cooked in one go! I’m doing them as separate entries so that they are easily found under the right book’s label but I’m tired of having a stack of cookbooks on my desk and I want to post about what I make sooner after I’ve made it. Last year I was writing about five or more entries at a time so by the time it posted and you’d commented on it I’d forgotten what it was I’d actually made! My goal is to bring the blog into more ‘real time’ rather than having a delay of a week or more between the cooking and the actual post relating to that food appearing.

I also need to apologise for the fact that I took absolutely no food photos over the holiday season! We had some good food and did an awful lot of cooking but I never managed to get the camera and the food in the same place at the same time. The 3lbs I gained back over the holidays should attest to the fact that a lot of good eating occur though!

So here’s something I made way back before Christmas!

This was the first outing for this book I believe and it was a really simple dish of broccoli, pasta, olive oil, onion, tofu, tamari, tinned tomatoes, wine (recipe says red, I used white as that’s what I normally have in the house), herbs, breadcrumbs and some vegan parmesan.

Basically you cook the pasta and broccoli, make the sauce and then throw it all together in a casserole dish, cover it with breadcrumbs and bake that sucker.

It was really tasty and we all enjoyed it (although Jim is not a broccoli fan and we have to barter how many pieces he has to eat before he can have pudding, I know, bad parenting bribing a kid with sugar but it’s healthier sugar than most kids get and I really want him to eat his vegetables!) and I will be making it again without a doubt.

So, what do you think?

