Vegetables and Menu

Almost there now, I promise! We’ve skipped a box here but basically what wasn’t used for Christmas will be thrown into things this week. My Mother also came over and did a little bit of shopping from my fridge (which is only fair as I’ve ‘shopped at Mum’s’ for many years now and never failed to return to University without a bag of food!) after Christmas for her turkey broth.

So, this week there was potatoes, onions, leeks, parsnips, carrots, brussel sprouts, broccoli and a huge swede. Off the top of my head I also had a bag of kale, a small butternut squash, more brussel sprouts and loads more carrots and swede already in the fridge.

The menu is for 10 days this time in order to get actually using the box a tad bit closer to it arriving. Previously it would arrive on a Friday and I’d not cook from it until Tuesday at the earliest. I’m only moving it a day earlier by using it on a Monday but I don’t like to do my food shopping at the weekend as that means I either have to drag both boys around or I have to go on my own when they’re away thereby wasting my ‘alone time’ in the shops. Also I find that Saturday’s are when a lot of stuff isn’t actually on the shelves, hopefully they will have restocked by Monday mornings, we’ll see, if not I may have to go back to Tuesdays but it will be hard in the summer when the vegetables have a shorter shelf life than the winter ones do.

Anyway, that was a long ramble to get to the list which looks like this:

1. Winter Harvest Soup – Vive Le Vegan (never got around to making it last time it appeared on the menu).

2. Sesame Kale Soba – Get It Ripe (this time with kale rather than chard).

3. Tofu and Broccoli with Hoisin Ginger Sauce – Vegan Fire and Spice (a new book I treated myself to over Christmas) and noodles.

4. Cabbage and Pasta Bake – Table for Two.

5. Beef and Broccoli with Vegetarian Oyster Sauce – Authentic Chinese Cuisine, plus rice.

6. Basic Fried Rice – Authentic Chinese Cuisine, with spring rolls.

7. Fall Harvest – Hugger Food.

8. Carrot Burgers – Meatless Burgers with potatoes and brussel sprouts.

9. Stew and Dumplings.

10. ???? I have just noticed that I am apparently somewhat dim and the numbering on my menu goes 7, 8, 10… So who knows what I will cook on this last night, I guess whatever is left in the fridge and freezer!

The reason for there being so much Chinese food on the menu is that my parents, my sister, the boys and I made a trip to a Chinese Supermarket in Leeds on January 2nd. I went in with a tiny mental list and somehow spent £38 coming away with 2 big bags of stuff! I have a couple of frozen things (the spring rolls being one of them) that looked nice plus a load of noodles and 2 packets each of silken and extra firm tofu (the silken has a really long expiry date on it so I’m not worried about using that up right away). Of course when I got home I realised I’d forgotten to look for some things (as we all had) so another trip is planned in 3 months time, I probably won’t be going but I’ll be sending a list with my sister and whoever else does go. I also finally got my hands on some bok choy, they had several different kinds there and lots of other interesting vegetables I wanted to try. Anyway, I’m sure I’ll visit it again sometime so I can browse again, hopefully without a baby in a pushchair and a 5 year old pushing a trolley willy nilly around the place!

So, what do you think?

