Seitan and Soba with Root Vegetables and the Vegetable Box

img_2168

This recipe sounds like a really odd combination of things, well it did to me, but as I had all the root vegetables called for in my fridge (leeks, carrots, swede and parsnips) and we’re big fans of soba in this house I decided to give it a try.

First I made up the seitan recipe from Vegan with a Vengeance and it came out really well.  Once again I cooked it in the oven rather than on the hob and it was really dense with only a little bit on the outside a tad bit spongy.  It made enough for 3 meals so I put what was left into the freezer and the first frozen lot I used in stew was really nice and didn’t seem to have suffered the freezing defrosting process.

Basically you cook the soba, blanch the vegetables and then mix it all together with some browned seitan and the leeks which you fry rather than blanch.  You mix in some sesame oil, tamri and mirin along the way and what comes out is a really tasty dish.

The only thing I changed was to actually cook the root vegetables until they were just soft as I didn’t think that the boys would enjoy crunchy vegetables.  They both wolfed this down and Piggle and I had leftovers for lunch the next day which reheated really well.  It’s a great recipe as it uses up those winter vegetables in a new way (new to me at least!) so you’re not stuck making stews and soups from them constantly.

So the next vegetable box (only last week’s left now to blog about!)

img_2169

We got the world’s largest butternut squash, savoy cabbage, carrots, potatoes, onions, leeks and broccoli.

I had been complaining to my Mother that I was fed up with broccoli and why didn’t we ever get any cabbage in our box for a change, surely it was in season.  She gently reminded me that when I ordered the box I asked that we not get cabbage as the boys didn’t like it back then!  Now that they are eating it I have changed my order to include it, the only thing I request that we don’t get is beetroot.  I don’t actually know if I life beetroot or not, I just know that as clumsy and messy as I am and with 2 small children anything bright red that can stain isn’t welcome in my kitchen!

So, the menu for this box is more interesting than the last one, back into a cooking mood!

Ginger Sesame Noodles – Quick Fix Vegetarian

Fish Fingers, baked beans and mashed potatoes

Jen’s Ginger Buternut Lentil Soup – La Dolce Vegan

Cabbage and Noodles – 20 Minutes To Dinner

Roasted Root Vegetables (I did these with maple syrup and Chinese 5 spice served with cous cous with toasted almonds in it, lovely meal!)

Chicken Roast, roastie tatoes and cabbage

Vegetable soup with whatever was leftover and some tiny pasta shapes

I’m getting caught up now, only a few books left in my stack in the living room to be posted about and then finally put away!

3 thoughts on “Seitan and Soba with Root Vegetables and the Vegetable Box

  1. We had a Moroccan lunch at work today, only the person doing the couscous, got a bit confused with semolina we think… I’ve never seen couscous like that and it sat like a brick in our stomachs for several hours! (sorry, nothing to do with your post other than you posting about couscous with almonds reminded me how nice couscous can be!)

So, what do you think?

