Red Lentil – Cauliflower Curry

This dish deserves a post of it’s own as I’ve made it quite a few times now and really love it!

Here’s everything ready to begin the cooking, I always lay the things out that I need or I find that I’m knocking all the spices over to get the ones I want and rushing back and forth across the kitchen which is lethal with a toddler appearing in front of you at the worst possible moment (if I had a penny for each time I’ve tripped on him in the kitchen we’d be able to afford those shiitake mushrooms!).

img_2313

It looks like a lot of stuff but mainly it’s spices, turmeric, cinnamon, cumin, coriander and curry powder.  There’s also a parsnip in this curry with the cauliflower, although by the time it’s all done cooking you’d not know it (and if Jim does find a piece he’s always convinced it’s potato!).

This does cook for quite a long while and you need to make sure you don’t cook it on too high a heat or you’ll need to add more liquid to it.  Near the end it requires a bit of stirring to stop it sticking, but most thick curries do!

img_2314

The finished dish is really comforting and warming and so very very tasty.  You can leave out the lime juice if you prefer but it really does give it an extra zing.

Both the boys wolf this down (although Jim does have to be convinced to eat the cauliflower unless I mush it into his).  I serve it with rice a lot of the time but it doesn’t need it really as it’s so filling so I didn’t this time.  We always have puppadoms though and use them instead of forks!

2 thoughts on “Red Lentil – Cauliflower Curry

  1. LOL we have a rule in this house: nobody in the kitchen when I’m cooking! It drives me potty when there are other people in the kitchen when I’m working, as they’re always standing exactly where I want to be: in front of the fridge, the bin, the dishwasher… The kids know now, but it helps they’re a bit older – more difficult to tell a hungry toddler I can imagine!

  2. Mmmm! I love red lentils in anything! I will have to try this recipe. Have you tried this version by Susan at Fat- free vegan? it is really tasty, i struggled to hunt down the panch phoran but found it in tescos finally i think and it was worth it. http://blog.fatfreevegan.com/2008/01/cauliflower-dal-with-panch-phoran.html
    Looking at that picture is making me hungry! You are very organised having everything laid out like that i will have to try it, i usually end up tripping over the cat!

So, what do you think?

